Have You Ever Tried to Quit Coffee?

Like drinking borrowed energy from the future

Kelly Tatham
6 min readDec 9, 2022

August 11th, 2022
Gibsons, BC

Over the weekend, I ate 2.5 grams of psilocybin mushrooms and went on a 8+ hour “trip.” Different from any psychedelic experience I’d had before, I felt discomfort in my body throughout and especially at the beginning. I knew going into the trip that I was a bit worn out, but I didn’t realize just how burnt out I’d actually become.

As my brain state changed and I became hyper-aware of my body, I could feel the caffeine I’d ingested in my system (a cup of drip coffee and an iced espresso drink with an extra shot to cover all the cream the restaurant had poured into it) and it didn’t feel pleasant. I had a sense of embodied anxiety and came to the conclusion that coffee has been “propping” me up.

Addiction has been on my mind lately. As a self-proclaimed “love addict” who often feels dependent on coffee/caffeine, sugar and cannabis, among other things, I have been sitting with the morality of “needing” substances and where we draw a line between what is good for us and what is bad for us.

I love coffee. I don’t remember when I began drinking regularly. I do remember tasting my parents’ coffee as child and finding it completely unpalatable. Somewhere…

--

--

Kelly Tatham

Fugitive. Systemsthinker. Saving the world is easier than we think. There is no world // loveandthemultiverse.substack.com/